课程体系

爱莎外籍人员子女学校提供严谨而平衡的课程,从受瑞吉欧教学理念启发的幼儿园项目开始,进入IB PYP(小学)、MYP(中学)和DP(大学预科)。这一框架将英语课程和中国传统文化的特征融合在一起。

 

广州爱莎外籍人员子女学校是获得PYP及MYP授权的IB世界学校。爱莎科学城作为一所新学校,即将获得PYP、MYP和DP的IB授权。了解更多有关IB及IB课程的信息,请阅读以下内容或点击点击此处

 

幼儿园

IB小学项目(PYP

IB中学项目(MYP

IB大学预科项目(DP

幼儿园
爱莎幼儿园提供安全而宽敞的学习环境,专为满足低龄学习者的需求而设计。其中配备大量适合幼儿年龄的教具和材料,以及现代教学技术。

 

本阶段课程项目设置反映了幼儿园教学的最佳实践,采用受Reggio Emilio瑞吉欧教学理念启发的课程,围绕探究单元进行规划,逐步过渡到小学PYP课程。幼儿识字与算术是幼儿园课程不可或缺的组成部分。中文作为一门语言课程并已整合到项目中,构成课程的核心部分。

 

IB小学项目(PYP

 

 

PYP是国际性、跨学科的面向1年级到5年级的项目,旨在通过课堂和其他学习方式促进儿童的全面发展。PYP关注成长期儿童的全面发展,包括学业、社交、身体、情感和文化需求。

 

我们提供的课程通过三种方式展现出来:

  1. 书面课程——我们的学生会学习什么内容?
  2. 教授课程——我们的学生如何学习?
  3. 评估课程——我们如何评估我们的学生?

 

我们的学校旨在通过鼓励发展IB学习者培养目标中所述的特质来培养具有国际思维的学生。我们支持孩子们积极探究、勤于思考、善于交流、勇于尝试,变得知识渊博、坚持原则、懂得关爱、胸襟开阔、全面发展、及时反思。

 

IB中学项目(MYP

 

 

MYP项目为期5年,面向6年级到10年级,旨在培养学生成为积极主动、关心他人的终身学习者。他们尊重自己和他人,并具有参与周围世界的能力。学习重点在于全面培养孩子在课堂内外成为探究者,并鼓励学生成为具有批判性、创造性和反思性思维的思考者。MYP项目是一个具有挑战性和严谨的课程框架,为课堂学习提供真实、与现实世界的联系。

通过MYP项目,学生可以培养对自己作为学习者身份的理解、逐渐形成自我意识,以及理解他们在本地和全球社区内负有行为责任的角色。为提供有广度和深度理解的全人教育,MYP项目包含八个学科组:

  1. 语言习得

  2. 语言与文学

  3. 个人与社会

  4. 科学

  5. 数学

  6. 艺术

  7. 体育和健康教育

  8. 设计

 

MYP项目围绕以下五个关键组成部分并以此为基础:

  1. 情景教学

  2. 概念理解

  3. 教学方法

  4. 服务与行动(通过参与社区服务)

  5. 包容与学习

 

为进一步培养自主、自我引导式的学习者,学生们会在十年级完成一份个人项目,以展示其学习情况。该个人项目鼓励他们对自己的学习和作品成果进行反思。这是一个在全球背景下的长期项目,通过深入调查产生创造性和批判性综合思维以及学习方法。

IB大学预科项目(DP

 

 

国际文凭大学预科项目(IB DP)是为11年级和12年级学生设计的课程。学生可选择学习完整的IB DP项目,也可选择单独的IB DP课程。DP项目被普遍视为进入大学学习的最佳准备方式,能够培养学生的研究技能、提高个人责任感、鼓励独立学习。

 

学生可从以下每个学科组中各选择一门学科,包括三门高级(HL)课程和三门普通(SL)课程。

  • 第1组:语言与文学学习(语言A)
  • 第2组:语言习得(语言B或初级语言),或第二语言A
  • 第3组:个人与社会(人文)
  • 第4组:实验科学
  • 第5组:数学
  • 6组:艺术(或者第二门科学或第三门语言)

 

DP项目有三大核心要素:

  1. 认识论(ToK):这是一门跨学科课程,学生可在其中探索所有学科知识的本质。通过质疑假设和询问如何确定我们所知道的知识来鼓励批判性思维。该课程要求学生理解不同的文化视角,从而促进国际思维。
  2. 专题论文(EE):给予学生机会独立研究个人感兴趣的自我引导式研究论文。通过完成4000字的论文,培养学生进行独立研究的技能(包括分析和评估),使他们为大学学习做好准备。
  3. 创造、行动与服务(CAS):学生必须完成的三个核心要素之一,指学生在学术学习期间广泛参与活动。学生参与有目的的艺术活动、体育活动和社区服务项目。培养学生对课堂之外更广泛社区和生活的认识,让学生开展并反思能够带来实际影响的挑战性活动,从而增强个人责任感。

 

通过多种方法对学生进行评估,包括考试、论文、案例研究、口头报告、实地考察、实验室工作、调查和艺术表演。一些评估任务由国际文凭组织直接进行外部评分,而另一些则由国际文凭组织进行外部主持、学校教师进行内部评估。所有学科均采用IB的1-7评分标准进行评分,其中7分最高,1分最低。认识论与专题论文合计3分。因此,IB DP考试的满分为(6科×7分)+3分=45分。

Curriculum

ISA international schools offer a rigorous and balanced curriculum, beginning with a Reggio Emilia inspired Early Years programme leading into the IB PYP (Primary Years Programme), MYP (Middle Years Programme) and DP (Diploma Programme). This framework integrates the characteristics of English language curriculum and traditional Chinese culture.

 

ISA Tianhe is authorised as an IB World School in the PYP and MYP. As a new school, ISA Science City is working towards their IB authorisation in the PYP, MYP and DP. To find out more about the IB and the IB programmes, please read below or click HERE.

 

Early Years

IB Primary Years Programme (PYP)

IB Middle Years Programme (MYP)

IB Diploma Programme (DP)

Early Years
The ISA Early Years offers safe and spacious learning environments, which are designed especially to meet the needs of young learners. They are all well-resourced with age-appropriate equipment and materials, and modern teaching and learning technology.

 

The programme reflects best practice in early years teaching, with a Reggio Emilia-inspired curriculum planned around units of inquiry that transition into the PYP curriculum in primary. Early literacy and numeracy are integral to the programme. Chinese is the specialist language and is integrated into the programme, forming a core aspect of the curriculum.

 

IB Primary Years Programme (PYP)

 

 

The PYP is an international, trans-disciplinary programme for Year 1-5 students designed to foster the development of the whole child, not just in the classroom but also through other means of learning. The PYP focuses on the total growth of the developing child, encompassing academic, social, physical, emotional and cultural needs.

 

The curriculum is expressed in three interrelated ways:

  1. The Written Curriculum – what do our students learn?

  2. The Taught Curriculum — how do our students learn?

  3. The Assessed Curriculum – how do we assess our students?

 

Our schools aim to develop internationally minded students by encouraging the development of the traits described in the IB learner profile. We support children to become inquirers, thinkers, communicators, risk-takers and to be knowledgeable, principled, caring, open-minded, balanced and reflective. 


IB Middle Years Programme (MYP)

 

 

The MYP is a 5-year programme from Years 6 to 10 that prepares students to become active, caring, lifelong learners who demonstrate respect for themselves and others and have the capacity to participate in the world around them. Learning focuses on the development of the whole child as an inquirer, both in and beyond the classroom and encourages students to be critical, creative and reflective thinkers. The MYP is a framework on which to hang a challenging and rigorous curriculum, which provides authentic, real-world connections to the learning in the classroom.

Through the MYP, students develop an understanding of themselves as learners, their emerging sense of self and their role in demonstrating responsible action within their community, both locally and globally. In order to provide a holistic education with breadth and depth of understanding, the MYP offers eight subject groups:

  1. Language acquisition

  2. Language and literature

  3. Individuals and societies

  4. Sciences

  5. Mathematics

  6. Arts

  7. Physical and health education

  8. Design

 

The MYP centres around and is underpinned by the following five key components:

  1. Teaching and learning in context

  2. Conceptual understanding

  3. Approaches to teaching and learning

  4. Service as action through Community Service

  5. Inclusion and learning

 

As a further means of developing autonomous, self-directed learners, students demonstrate their learning through completing a Personal Project in Year 10, which encourages reflection on their learning and outcomes of their work. This is a long-term project, which is embedded within a global context and generates a synthesis of creative and critical thinking and approaches to learning through an in-depth investigation.

 

IB Diploma Programme (DP)

 

 

The International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (IB DP) is a course designed for students in Years 11&12. Students can choose to follow either the full IB Diploma Programme or their choice of individual IB Diploma courses. Widely recognised as the best possible preparation for study at university, the DP builds research skills, promotes personal responsibility and encourages independent learning.

 

 

Students can choose one subject from each of the groups below, three at Higher Level (HL) and three at Standard Level (SL).

  • Group 1: Studies in Language and Literature (Language A);

  • Group 2: Language Acquisition (Language B or ab initio), or a second Language A;

  • Group 3: Individuals and Societies (Humanities);

  • Group 4: Experimental Sciences;

  • Group 5: Mathematics;

  • Group 6: Arts (or a second Science, or a third language).

 

The DP has three core requirements:

  1. Theory of Knowledge (ToK): This is an interdisciplinary course where students explore the nature of knowledge across all disciplines. Critical thinking is encouraged by questioning assumptions and asking how certain of knowing what we know, The course promotes international mindedness by requiring an understanding of different cultural perspectives.

  2. Extended Essay (EE): The EE gives students the opportunity to independently investigate a self-directed research paper of individual interest. Through writing this 4,000 word essay, students develop the skills of independent research, including analysis and evaluation which will prepare them well for study at university level.

  3. Creativity, Activity and Service (CAS): As one of the three core elements that students must complete, CAS runs alongside students’ academic subjects. Students become involved in purposeful artistic pursuits, physical activity and community service projects. Fostering awareness of the broader community and life outside of the classroom, students carry out and reflect on challenging activities that have real consequences, thus promoting personal responsibility.

 

Students are assessed using a variety of methods, including examinations, essays, case studies, oral presentations, fieldwork, laboratory work, investigations and artistic performances. Some assessment tasks are marked externally by the IB, while others are internally assessed by teachers but externally moderated by the IB. All subjects are marked using the IB 1-7 scale, where 7 is the highest and 1 the lowest. Theory of Knowledge and the Extended Essay in combination are worth 3 points. The maximum score in the IB Diploma is therefore (6 subjects x 7 points) + 3 points = 45 points.